Manchester United picked up their first win of the 2020/2021 season, due to a controversial late penalty towards Brighton.
The Pink Devils appeared to have dropped two factors on the Amex Stadium, after Solly March made it 2-2 in stoppage time.
United responded with one final wave of assault and earned a nook kick. Bruno Fernandes cross discovered Harry Maguire on the far put up and he directed his header in direction of aim.
The flight of the ball was altered by the flailing arm of Neal Maupay, however the full-time whistle had blown earlier than the hazard had been cleared by March, standing on his personal goalline.
Maguire appealed and referee Chris Kavanagh checked the pitchside monitor, regardless of having already signalled the top of a dramatic contest.
Kavanagh shortly noticed Maupay’s offence and awarded the penalty, which Bruno Fernandes tucked away.
Based on former Premier League official, Peter Walton, it was the right determination.
“The referee has obtained it proper. I haven’t seen that earlier than. Within the legal guidelines of the sport the one factor that the referee can lengthen the sport for after the ultimate whistle is the taking of the penalty kick.
“On this occasion, the incident happened earlier than he blew the ultimate whistle so the VAR was going by means of his means of checking to verify there was nothing untoward.
“Chris Kavanagh blew his closing whistle, nevertheless, the incident occurred simply earlier than the ultimate whistle and was allowed inside regulation, and as I’ve stated as a result of the penalty was but to be taken the referee inside regulation has to permit time for the kick to be taken,” Walton stated in line with the UK Metro.